Robyn at Terminal 5

Robyn_terminal_5

So I can’t believe I still haven’t written anything about Robyn’s Terminal 5 show last week. Bad Grant. 
 
It wasn’t quite the knockout that the Webster Hall show was and some of that undoubtedly has to do with the venue. I see more shows at Terminal 5 than anywhere else. It’s great that it’s only a few blocks from my house but the sound and acoustics of the venue are just terrible and the sight lines are weird.
 
Robyn seemed a bit distracted at the top of the show: changing shoes between songs and futzing with her mic pack. She cancelled a few dates due to illness shortly after the concert so I wonder if she was already coming down with something.
 
Vocals were customarily strong and the crowd was absolutely in love. I was thrilled to hear “Dream On” and “Konichiwa Bitches.” The finale, a tender coupling of “Dancing Queen” with her old chestnut, “Show Me Love” was dynamite.
 
You’ll have to forgive this stranger’s singalong….but who can blame him?


 

Tags: ,

About SWIZZLSTICK

Music Supervisor for HUNTING SEASON http://huntingseason.tv/music Listen to the Soundtrack on Spotify: http://tinyurl.com/cgerk2q

3 responses to “Robyn at Terminal 5”

  1. David Kobylar says :

    Hey swizzlesticks, I think my friend Sean is probably an even bigger music buff than you and a huge Robyn fan!! (he posted this to Facebook). Have you seen this? Robyn covering Prince When Does Cry…. thought I’d share : )http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFpke-KqGFo

  2. grant says :

    A great tip-off. Thanks!

  3. Charlie says :

    The best.

Leave a comment