Such a Pretty Mess on My Dress

World's most ridiculous song. After being kicked off the Purple Rain set by Prince and quickly being replaced by (one in a long succession) of lookalikes (this time Apollonia), Vanity moved to Motown to record a solo record. I think it's sort of amazing that she released this song as a pop single in 1984. Um, it's about someone ejaculating on her clothes. That was 25 years ago, people. Like, um, wow!

It's been well documented that she had a pretty serious drug problem at this time and has since cleaned up (maybe too much – I think she's a Christian evangelist now). But her bad choices are our YouTube fodder. And check-out all the video's popped champagne corks, falling pearls, etc, just to drive the visual metaphor home.

Thanks, Vanity!

Vanity – "Pretty Mess"

Tags: ,

About SWIZZLSTICK

Music Supervisor for HUNTING SEASON http://huntingseason.tv/music Listen to the Soundtrack on Spotify: http://tinyurl.com/cgerk2q

7 responses to “Such a Pretty Mess on My Dress”

  1. Charlie says :

    This is seriously amazing. Otherwise known as the Monica Lewinsky theme song.

  2. Diane Carney says :

    Where to begin? The man? The HAIR? The feathers? The earrings? The song? The lyrics? The dancing/wiggling? GP, I heart you for the enrichment.

  3. Charlie says :

    Meanwhile, I’m slightly embarrassed to admit this — but I kind of love the song. Have I lost my mind? And I’ve been trolling around online and it looks like it was never released digitally — like not even on an out-of-print CD. How is this possible!?!?!?! (I know there are at least 7 punchlines lined up in response to that question…)

  4. grant says :

    In middle school, I somehow tracked the vinyl LP down but probably got rid of it long ago. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was never issued on CD – am pretty sure it bombed. I mean, who’s going to play THAT song in 1984? I agree though – this has been stuck in my head all week!

  5. Charlie says :

    Fascinating! Yes, Pretty Mess and Dancing in the Sheets are pretty much the same song. Which would explain why I love Pretty Mess so much.And I like your lyric better 😉 Though I do love me that old expression "it’s like throwing a hot dog down a hallway…"

  6. grant says :

    Now for some further enrichment. Turns out the writer/producer was also behind this track….which Totally makes sense as they’re….kind of the same song! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5d23xNp5EE

  7. grant says :

    and while I thought she said, "and then he found a hole and it went all the way in." She actually says, "and then he found a hallway that went all the way." Guess that’s pretty much the same thing.

Leave a comment